The World Steel Association announced the 2024 Steel Sustainability Champions

The World Steel Association (worldsteel) has recognised 12 companies as Steel Sustainability Champions for their work in 2023.

Now in its seventh year, the Steel Sustainability Champions Programme commends those worldsteel members that are most clearly demonstrating their commitment and action to sustainable development through their involvement in worldsteel sustainability activities.

The 2024 Steel Sustainability Champions are:

  • ArcelorMittal
  • BlueScope Steel Limited
  • China Steel Corporation (CSC)
  • Emirates Steel Arkan
  • HBIS Group Co., Ltd.
  • JFE Steel Corporation
  • JSW Steel Limited
  • POSCO Holdings
  • Tata Steel
  • Tenaris
  • Ternium
  • voestalpine AG

Recognised for the seventh consecutive year this year, Tata Steel and Tenaris have been Champions every year since the programme launch in 2018. In the programme’s first year worldsteel recognised only six members, so they are pleased to see a steady increase in the number of members qualifying for their most demanding sustainability recognition.

All members must do the following to be recognised as Sustainability Champions:

  • Sign the worldsteel Sustainability Charter. Provide evidence of meeting the 20 criteria covering the fields of environment, social, governance and economics (ESGE).
  • Provide Life Cycle Inventory (LCI) data to worldsteel’s data collection programme. The data for LCI should cover more than 60% of the company’s crude steel production and should be less than 5 years old.
  • Be shortlisted in one of the 6 categories of the worldsteel Steelie Awards or be recognised in the worldsteel Safety and Health Recognition Programme.

Champions are presented with certificates at the April Special General Meeting of the Board of Members.

Share this story

Green Steel World Editorial Team

Green Steel World Editorial Team

News brought to you by our editorial team. We are a knowledge platform – driving technology to the global green steel community. If you wish to contribute your press, please contact us.